IEEE Smart Village Executive Committee

IEEE Smart Village stimulates social enterprise by providing renewable electrical systems, start-up training and ongoing support to help poor, energy-deprived communities globally build toward sustainable prosperity.

Ray Larsen Ray Larsen is co-founder and chair of IEEE Smart Village, which combines the talents of IEEE members with community-owned business partners in energy-impoverished regions to create self-sustaining, micro-utilities and education programs. As chair of the organization’s Executive committee, Ray is responsible for leading IEEE Smart Village’s total operation including nurturing ten new partnerships each year, each of which pledges to grow to serve a million people. Ray is past head of the Electronics Department at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory at Stanford University, Past President of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society, an IEEE Life Fellow and currently a part-time  Special Projects engineering manager at the SLAC in Menlo Park, California.
Dr. Robin Podmore Dr. Robin Podmore is co-founder and co-chair of IEEE Smart Village, as well as Vice President for IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) New Initiatives and Outreach. He is also founder and President of Incremental Systems Corp. (IncSys), a private company that helps organizations train system operators to ensure reliability of the bulk power system. Robin is passionately dedicated to using his own expertise and inspiring others, including industry partners to help energy-impoverished communities build toward sustainable prosperity. In the markets that IEEE Smart Village serves, he actively promotes IEEE Smart Village’s open-source products and encourages industry to participate in consensus development of technology-interoperability standards needed for market acceptance and ISV Partner investor confidence.
  Dr. Alan Mickelson has been on the faculty of at the University of Colorado at Boulder for going on 35 years after a one year postdoc in Soviet Armenia and 4 years on staff of the Electronics Laboratory of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. Alan’s primary research field has been optical and microwave technologies for communication. Alan has also implemented wireless communication for sparsely populated remote areas in Nepal, Peru, Rwanda and Bolivia and solar energy training in Haiti. Alan presently is the chairman of the IEEE Smart Village Operations committee. Alan received a BSEE from the University of Texas at El Paso and MS and PhD from California Institute of Technology.
Dr. M. David Kankam serves as the University Affairs Officer (UAO) at NASA Glenn Research Center (GRC) in Cleveland, OH. He oversees the Center’s portfolio of NASA Higher Education opportunities for GRC-Academia partnerships and collaborations. Prior to his current position, Dave was a Senior Research Engineer at GRC for over ten years where he focused on power electronics-based systems for aerospace and terrestrial applications.  Dave serves as the chair of ISV’s Project Development committee. He is a member of the Industry Advisory Committee for Cleveland State University’s Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering where he periodically teaches part-time. Dave is an active member of IEEE/IAS’s Industry Applications Control Committee (IACC) for which he served in various Executive positions for over ten years. He is a Fellow of the IEEE. He holds a Bachelor and Master of Applied Science and Engineering degrees, as well as, Ph.D. all in Electrical Engineering, and Diploma in Business Administration from Canada’s University of Toronto (U of T).
Dr. Dan Wessner Dr. Dan Wessner is an educator with vast international experience working  extensively among international nonprofits committed to just and sustainable development. He works with IEEE Smart Village on its goal of Learning Beyond the Light Bulb through educational opportunities that link North American campuses and engineers to communities that now enjoy electricity and connectivity through partnership with IEEE. Dan serves on the board of the Posner Center for International Development, a consortium of 60 nonprofit and for-profit tenant organizations based in Denver, Colorado. He holds degrees in international development, theology, law and history. He pioneered the very successful Regis University Masters of Development Practice degree program and has recently joined the Faculty of future Generations University dedicated to global sustainable development. 
Joe Lillie is the liaison for IEEE Smart Village to the IEEE Foundation and has served as the past treasurer of the Smart Village committee. He has 43 years of experience in telecommunications engineering and management and was employed by BellSouth Telecommunications from 1973-2002.  His IEEE activities include past service on the IEEE Board of Directors as the Vice President of MGA, IEEE Treasurer and Region 5 Director.  He is an IEEE Foundation Director Emeritus having served on the IEEE Foundation Board of Directors as a Director and Treasurer. Joe is currently serving on the IEEE Foundation Board as Treasurer and the IEEE Consumer Electronics Society Board of Governors as a Member and Treasurer. Joe received the B.S. in Electrical Engineering (1974) and an M.S. in Telecommunications (1997) from the University of Southwestern Louisiana.
Dan Estes, is the Executive Director – Technology at Cox Business.  He has more than 37 years experience in the telecommunications business having worked at BellSouth from 1981 to 2001 and for Cox Communications at present.  He is a Senior Member of IEEE and has been active in various chapters since he received his Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering at the University of Mississippi. Dan currently serves as the chair of the Marketing committee for IEEE Smart Village. Dan is a Professional Engineer and holds four patents in the optical telecommunications area.